MONKEY FACED ORCHID

Hello!  I am the Monkey-faced orchid.  You have probably have not heard of me because I am a rare kind of plant that lives in the Cloud Mountains of Peru and southeaster Ecuador.  I live in areas that are wet and not too hot.  You might be interested to know, though, that I am a perennial that can be grown indoors in a wide variety of climates.  If you decide to do this, be really patient because  from the time I germinate to the time I will actually bloom … yea, it can be up to seven years.  But not to worry, after I start blooming I will bloom continuously for almost 19 years!!  Another cool thing about me is that I smell really good — like fresh oranges.  No joke!!

Some people also refer to me as a Dracula orchid because of the long fang-like petal extensions I have, but I really prefer being called “Monkey”.

If I could ask any questions of a real monkey orchid I would ask:

  1. How many different kinds of monkey faced orchids are there?
  2. Is there a reason that you smell like oranges?
  3. How do you reproduce?

2 Thoughts.

  1. I LOVE these Michael! They look so much like monkeys I can’t believe it! They probably smell like oranges to attract insects to pollinate them or maybe a bird. We are going to learn about how plants reproduce soon:) Your favorite subject!

  2. Hi Micheal! Its Maddie. I thought your blog was really good. I had never heard of a monkey faced flower. I really liked how you said about what name you preferred, that was a nice touch. It really does sound like you are talking as a flower. I think that its crazy how long it takes to bloom. I also think the venus flytrap is very cool. I wonder how thier jaws snap? Anyways, i thought the plants fit you very well. You did a great job
    -Madison

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar